top of page

"Student's Reptile House Hits the Mark at Orana"

Following the completion of my final project during the Bachelor of Architectural studies at CPIT, my concept to replace the current reptile house had led to a close relationship forming between the park's team members and I. I had met with the native fauna team to discuss the overall vision for this area, to encourage thinking about the redeveloping of the wider park and its facilities.

The proposed Reptile House I had designed for Orana Wildlife Park was displayed at the recent exhibition, EXIT, for final year architectural studies students at CPIT. My relationship with the park began earlier in the year when I was exploring various options for her my major project. I ended up having four meetings with Orana's education manager Toby Johnson and we discussed more than one option. It was originally part of a master plan to revamp the native area but we narrowed it down to the reptile house.




The existing building is a 1980s concrete block-bunker style, which currently houses the tuatara, a wide range of native reptiles and some exotics including a turtle and shingle-back lizard.


Having just completed the single biggest project in the zoo's history, a $6 million Great Ape Centre that is home to New Zealand's only gorillas, Toby Johnson had said planning work had commenced on infrastructural changes to the café-function centre and entrance building. Planning was also underway on the next major capital project, a New Zealand Native Centre that would enable the park to make a wider contribution to native conservation efforts, he said.


My ideas had definitely struck a chord with management's vision. "I would hope that the 'organic' influences of Ashley's design will help shape the New Zealand Native Centre design and future native precinct development, and that when redevelopment of the Reptile House does start we may begin with Ashley's work." He said the concept moved away from "box-like thinking" of conventional zoo buildings. The proposed facility is based on the shape of a reptile. I have visited Orana Wildlife Park numerous times since around the age of four; I wanted to work on a project that would showcase my love of animals.


Inspiration came from the lizard's form and movement - this is reflected in the latticed-type timber structure and the type of materials used that look like a lizard's scales. It would be a prefabricated building made of light, sustainable cross laminated timber, designed to blend into the landscape.


"A volunteer at her local SPCA, Welsh has wanted to study art and architecture from the age of 12. She pays tribute to her CPIT tutors for giving her the confidence to extend herself while on her architectural studies course."


"I've had a lot of support in terms of getting out and talking to people. A year ago I wouldn't have been able to put myself out there. I certainly didn't expect to be in this position at this stage of my career, straight out of school."


Following the EXIT exhibition I had met with native park staff again to discuss my concept further for possible integration into Orana's five year development plan.





Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page